17 THINGS I LEARNED AT 17

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

I was born on April 14, 1999. Yesterday I turned 17. Do I feel different? No, not really. Each day is a blessing and I’m just grateful I got to live to see another day. Each day I live is an opportunity to grow and better myself as a person. For the past couple of years I’ve struggled with self identity and knowing how I fit into this place we call Earth. It’s something I am still struggling with, but have gotten better at. Today I want to share with you 17 things or lessons that I learned throughout my 17 years living on this planet. I hope that they help you in whatever they can. Enjoy!

  1. It’s okay to be alone. I’ve talked about it before here on Kathlyn’s Korner, but for my entire sophomore and most of my junior year, I felt like I had no friends. That I was on my own and didn’t have that one person I can just hang out with and be completely myself. And to be honest, I still feel that way sometimes, but instead of wallowing in self pity for the lack of friendships I have, I take this time alone to figure myself out. I take this time by myself to learn more about who I am and what I’m passionate about. Solitude is a time of reflection; it’s not a bad thing.
  2. If you have a voice, you ought to use it. For most of my life, I’ve kept quiet and let others do the talking for me. I never spoke up about the things I cared about because I thought no one would listen or that people would judge me. Not anymore. My voice, your voice, our voices are bigger than we can imagine. We just have to believe in what we say and the things we do, and trust me, someone out there, it might just be one person, but someone out there will listen.
  3. Take care of yourself. Mentally, physically, and spiritually.
  4. Never take your family for granted. Although they can be a pain in the ass at times, having a strong relationship with my family is one of the most important things in my life. I know that whenever I’m in a bad mood, I can surround myself in their presence and feel at peace. I thank God for them and if any of them are reading this, I love you.
  5. Sometimes you just need a good cry. Letting those tears fall from your eyes and releasing whatever pent up emotion you have inside can be therapeutic.
  6. Not everyone is going to like you. And that’s okay.
  7. Stop letting people get under your skin so easily. This is something that I struggle with on the daily. I dwell too much on the opinions of others and it has a negative affect on my mood. I’ve learned that it’s not worth it and if you care too much much about what people say about you, you’ll never fully enjoy life.
  8. People come and go. It’s something we’re all going to experience and I know it sucks, but it’ll be okay. Eventually.
  9. Stop being so damn paranoid all the time. Not everyone is out to get you Kathlyn.
  10. Be your own role model. Stop looking up to and aspiring to be like random celebrities.
  11. Proper Planning Prevents Piss Poor Performance. Shout out to my cousin Gray for letting me in on this one.
  12. Whatever you start, make sure you finish. Don’t give up when things get hard. Persevere and push through. I watched a great video last week that carried an empowering message. Here’s the link if you want to give it a watch: https://youtu.be/vUyXvvYBSqE
  13. Thoughts become things. The Law of Attraction is always at work baby.
  14. Make time for the things you love. For me it’s reading and blogging..and other things too, but mostly reading and blogging.
  15. Self love and confidence are not about feeling great 100% everyday. Self love and confidence is knowing that when you have days where you feel like complete shit, you can get through it because you are enough.
  16. Stop complaining so much. It’s okay to vent every once in a while, but constantly putting negative energy out in the universe will come back and bite you in the butt. With every complaint you make, there is something you can be grateful for. Focus on that instead.
  17. Stop trying to grow up so fast. I want to enjoy my childhood as much as I can because before I know it, I will be an adult with a job and husband and kids and I’ll have to start making my own doctor appointments *inserts pouty face*.

So there you have it. 17 things I learned at the age of 17. Of course there is a lot more, but that would make for a super long post and we don’t have time for that. Thank you so much for reading and I hope you have a blessed day!

xo, kathlyn

6 thoughts on “17 THINGS I LEARNED AT 17”

  1. Ahhh Happy Birthday!! 17 has been one of the most fun years for me, and I hope it’ll be amazing year for you. This is a brilliant list and I completely agree with all of them. I love not everyone is going to like you and that’s okay because that’s such an important lesson, and you’re lucky to have learned it a lot quicker than I have.

    Adored this post!!

    Love,

    Anne x // A Portrait Of Youth

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much Anne! Learning that it’s okay for not everyone to like you is a vital message and when you reach that point in life, you’ll live more freely without the pressure to please everyone you meet. I’m glad that we’ve both reached that point 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

